Anambra Assembly confirms 20 Commissioners-nominees

From: IFEANYI Okonkwo

The Anambra State House of Assembly on Thursday 7th April 2022, confirmed all the 20 commissioner nominees presented by governor Charles Chukwuma Soludo.

The confirmation followed the adoption of the report of the assembly screening committee at plenary.

Presenting the report, Chairman of the screening and election committee matters, Rt. Hon Pascal Agbodike said that the 20 nominees met the requirements needed to be members of the state executive council of the new administration in the state.

Agbodike, who is also the Deputy Speaker of the House, said they had all attained the mandatory ages required for appointment as commissioners in the state and showed ability to serve.

Supporting the claim, deputy majority leader, Hon. Emeka Aforka, urged his colleagues to support the motion to allow the governor implement his developmental projects in the state.

The lawmakers, thereafter, confirmed the nominees through a voice vote.

in his remarks, the Speaker of the Assembly, Rt Hon. Uchenna Victor Okafor, urged the nominees to see themselves as agents of positive change in the state.

Okafor also urged them to support governor Soludo, in implementing his policies and programmes to uplift the living condition of Nd-Anambra.

Okafor said the Governor also sent another letter requesting the screening of a new Commissioner for Special Duties, Mr. Silvester Ezeakenwa, for subsequent confirmation.

The nominees are; Mr Ifeatu Chinedu (Finance), Prof. Ofonze Amucheazi (Lands) Mr Ifeanyi Okoma (Works), Ms Chiamaka Nnake (Budget) Dr Afam Obidike (Health), Mr Patrick Agha-mba (Youth Development), Mrs Ifeyinwa Obinabo (Women/Children Afairs), Dr Obinna Ugonnadi, Mr Julius Chukwuemeka (Power/Water Resources), and Prof. Ngozi Chuma-Udeh (Education).

Others are Mr Paul Nwosu (Information), Dr Foster Ihejiofor (Agriculture), Mrs Patricia Igwebuike (Transport), Mr Felix Odimegwu (Environment), Mr. Chikodi Anara (Home Land Afairs), Prof. Chika Ifemeje (Attorney General/Commissioner for Justice), Mr Collins Nwabunwanne (Local Government Affairs), Mr Donatus Onyeji (Culture/Entertainment), Mr. Anthony Ifeanya (Petroleum) and Mr Paulinus Onyeaka (Housing).

In their similar reactions, the Commissioners pledged to work for the collective development of the state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.